We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Music For The Densely Populated, Vol. 2

by Ensemble Entendu

Azalea Chuva 05:41
Flat Talk 05:29
Big Break 05:20


Photay and Sam O.B. return for their second official collaborative release as Ensemble Entendu with Music For The Densely Populated, Vol. 2 (MFTDPV2).

MFTDPV2 is full of bounce and shuffle, with thick grooves inheriting everything from anthemic synth boogie ('Time Is Certainly Passing'), oceanic latin jazz ('Azalea Chuva'), and driving psych funk ('Up To No Good') and swung beats ('Flat Talk') all built for the discerning deejay much as the daily commuter's earbuds.

Ensemble Entendu began as a collaborative project of Photay and Sam O.B. exploring library music and the tradition of rhythm tracks, emphasizing driving drums and basslines in stripped down productions on 2016's Selected Rhythm Works, Vol. 1. Today the Brooklyn-based producers are releasing an expanded sound, integrating vocals and lead instruments to shape a music uniquely situated between their already unique solo artistic voices.

For example, check summer blockbuster single 'Big Break,' which conjures hallucinogenic congas and synth stabs in a rhythmic propulsion of personal motivation leading up to a supreme affirmation in chorus: "This is your big break!"

MFTDPV2 is the first of two EPs to be released by Ensemble Entendu on Astro Nautico this year.


released July 26, 2019

Original music produced, written, recorded + mixed by Sam Obey and Evan Shornstein.

Saxophone on Tracks 2, 5 by Jaedon Alvira

Mastered by Phil Moffa.

Artwork by Pete Ford.


all rights reserved



Astro Nautico New York

A serious record label.

contact / help

Contact Astro Nautico

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Music For The Densely Populated, Vol. 2, you may also like: